PDA

View Full Version : Variance...or...Non Profitable?

mathewg
5th February 2009, 09:35 PM
I have been running a system for over 12 months now and atm it is running @ 4.4% POT, which is great for such a high turnover system, as there has been over 7000 bets. It is purely a market driven bet selection process. But I have done some in-depth analysis over the last few days.

The first on price bands. These are the results:

<$4 1011 bets +$684
$4-$6 2288 bets +$3283
$6-$8 1896 bets +4420
$8-$10 1909 bets -1060

I cap my bets at $10.

Question: Should I cap my bets now @ $8?

The second issue I looked @ is the days I bet on. These are the results:

Sunday 1030 bests +$3215
Monday 459 bets +$858
Tuesday 481 bets -$164
Wednesday 903 bets +$1044
Thursday 790 bets -$1674
Friday 844 bets -$2678
Saturday 2597 bets +$6726

Question: Should I quit Thursday and Friday betting?

Any other thoughts on areas to look at?

AngryPixie
6th February 2009, 12:35 AM
Matthew

Over that many trials it's hard to see the $8-$10 price band and Thursday and Friday recovering.

Mr. Logic
6th February 2009, 07:55 AM
You have provided an overall POT of 4.4% while the other statistics you have provided are in dollar profits and losses. POT profits and losses would be far more useful. Also knowing whether level staking or chasing losses is involved in the results provided influences how one looks at them.

My view is this is nothing but a statistical variation. There is no logical reason why Thursday or Friday results over the long term - hundreds of thousands of wagers - should be significantly different from Monday. The odds also favour a statistical variation being the reason for a loss in those $10.00 bets.

mathewg
6th February 2009, 08:59 AM