PDA

View Full Version : Weighty problem drawn wide...

supersoul
22nd April 2002, 03:30 AM
Hi- I am new to punting, new to Ozzie and new to this forum... so bear with me?

Just a quick question- as I know nothing about weight handycapping:

Horses differ in sizes. Do "they"(stewards?) consider that when weight "penalties" for past performances are determined? For example- two horses with absolute identical records; the one is xx hands high, the other xx+5, and the second one thus weighs in at 20 kg more. Do they get identical weights?

I would think that if they do, the heavier horse might be favoured as percentage wise it is less(of his total running weight everything up?)

Also, looking at barrier influences- Propunter does not give stats as wide barriers are not always filled- depending on the number of runners/acceptances. I cannot see why not, as it can be given as a percentage of starts. Obviously the higher draws will be less accurate because of lower numbers, but percentages could still be reasonably valid eg % tote-favourites which won from particular barrier... etc etc etc
In some instances draws could be very important- and such stats would help to choose between possibilities?

quapi
22nd April 2002, 03:04 PM
We are no longer updating the barrier stats on a weekly basis. It took quite a few hours each week and it is not possible to justify the expense based on the weekly number of hits to those pages.

Privateer
22nd April 2002, 07:47 PM
Quapi....interesting pseudonym...is it from the acronym used in theoretical chemistry for qua(siadiabatic) p(ropagator path)
i(ntegral method)..just wondering.

Privateer

supersoul
26th April 2002, 03:18 AM
On 2002-04-22 09:58, Privateer wrote:
And you're the guy who had the audacity to question my stats????? Sorry, can't type anymore I just fell off the chair from laughing too much!!!!