View Single Post
  #4  
Old 13th January 2005, 11:01 PM
La Mer La Mer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 578
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zorro
Can anyone provide the revised placings in this hypothetical case.
Horse A 1st
Horse B 2nd
Horses C & D dead-heat for 3rd
Horse C then protests successfully against Horse B.
Are the revised placings
1st A
=2nd C,D
4th B


Most definitely this would be the result. The Australian Rules of Racing state:

"If a placed horse or its rider causes interference within the meaning of this Rule to another placed horse, and the stewards are of the opinion that the horse interfered with would have finished ahead of the first mentioned horse had such interference not occurred, they may place the first mentioned horse immediately after the horse interfered with. "

In other words in your example B would be relegated behind C and as D dead-heated with C, in this case B would also be placed behind it as well.

D dead-heated with C and had nothing to do with the interference nor the protest and therefore retains is dead-heat status.
Reply With Quote