
18th January 2005, 11:42 AM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 578
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Shaun
So they can promote a horse but can't relegate....in the first example D ended up in a better position because of C winningthe protest
|
They can only promote by default as in the case with your example. Leaving aside dead-heats it would be the same if the finishing order (over the line) was A, B, C, D, E, F and F then successfully protested against B, the outcome would be that C, D, E, and F would all be promoted up one placing with B being relegated (in accordance with rule 136 (2) behind F.
|