Smartgambler
Pro-Punter

Go Back   OZmium Sports Betting and Horse Racing Forums > Public Forums > Sports and Gambling
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark all topics as read

To advertise on these
forums, e-mail us.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th June 2017, 11:22 AM
Every Topic Every Topic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 240
Default Middling in sports betting

Years ago I used to play around with sports stats and having a few bets and noticed something that is referred to as "middling".
i.e. you take both sides of the spread, if the options allow, and lose a small percent when one of the spreads wins and the other loses.
However, sometimes in a close finish to a game you will pick up BOTH spreads and win well.

for example...
team A has a spread offered at one book -2.5 $1.93 and the other book has +4.5 for $1.93 (this does occur more often than you think)
If the final result is a win to team A by 4 pts, you collect that spread and lose the other.
But if team A only wins by 3 pts, then you win BOTH spreads.
How often does this happen? It depends on the sport and it depend on the margin you are looking for.

There are other ways of doing this by taking one side early in the betting cycle and picking up the other side at an inflated margin if the lines move.

This might be of interest to some of you...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th June 2017, 10:36 PM
eddie72 eddie72 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Posts: 121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Every Topic
for example...
team A has a spread offered at one book -2.5 $1.93 and the other book has +4.5 for $1.93 (this does occur more often than you think)

Hi Every Topic
Clarification please, having trouble verifying your example, getting old I guess

So Team A -2.5, Team B +4.5
If Team A were to win by 3 or 4 points, wouldn't both line wagers win?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th June 2017, 07:23 AM
Every Topic Every Topic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 240
Default

Yes, if team A wins by 3 or 4 pts then you collect on both bets.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2008 OZmium Pty. Ltd. All rights reserved . ACN 091184655