Smartgambler
Pro-Punter

Go Back   OZmium Sports Betting and Horse Racing Forums > Public Forums > General Topics
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark all topics as read

To advertise on these
forums, e-mail us.

Old 19th November 2013, 08:24 PM
Banned

Default Beware??

Amateur scambuster James Thomson, a Melbourne sailmaker by trade, knew he was onto something when his mobile phone rang late last week and the male caller with a hidden number said: "Shut your website down. We know your home address. If you don't shut it down we'll send three blokes over."

Thomson does not know who the caller was, but his website aussiescamalert.com had been running extensive rip-off warnings about a company called Laybet Professionals who sell the promise of riches through horseracing gambling software but had, Thomson found, a rash of Victorian victims alleging they lost up to $50,000 each from the Gold Coast company with no apparent prospect of getting it back.

Victims also came from NSW and South Australia, but Victoria had been targeted through cold calls, texts and "Make Money From Home" advertisements in the Herald Sun.

"They are certainly very active," says Thomson.

Advertisement
Internet gambling exchange Betfair monitors suspicious activity and can reverse transactions and freeze accounts. A spokesman said such ********** where third parties access individual accounts were an industry-wide problem.

"While we can't prevent customers allowing third-party access to their betting accounts or making unwise investment decisions, Betfair does everything in its power to identify and stop fraudulent activity," he said.

Geelong mechanic "Robert" said he was "one of the lucky ones" when the $5500 he sent to Laybet Professionals for gambling software he didn't receive was returned to his bank account.