Smartgambler
Pro-Punter

Go Back   OZmium Sports Betting and Horse Racing Forums > Public Forums > Horse Race Betting Systems
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark all topics as read

To advertise on these
forums, e-mail us.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 22nd June 2012, 09:40 AM
Star Star is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bernie
Star, I was playing around with a system where I was using one column only. I deleted all the rest. I found that even after scratchings the positions could change later on. Not often, but sometimes. In the end out of frustration I gave up.

Another problem was, sometimes after a late scratching the neurals are not updated. This again caused frustration.
---------------

Thanks Bernie.

I wonder if they have some hidden factors inbuilt that could cause that. I had just rechecked before i saw your reply and realized two areas that could be a cause.


1. I had Jockey Ability listed as a 3. But If a looked too early and their was a jockey change or none listed, i suspect in that would cause an adjustment.

2. The same for Wet tracks. I had it down as a three, maybe they altered the neurals as the track conditions came in.
\
So, I have reduced both of those figures down to Zero. The do not affect my system really, others the Neurals are just are starting point before my own filters.

I suspect I could just use any on line free rating service and go from their.

Thanks.

ps.

The odd changes are annoying though, I am pleased you picked up on it and I do not think Gary has the answer himself or he may have just misunderstood what i was trying to say.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 22nd June 2012, 09:52 AM
moeee moeee is offline
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 5,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Star
I do not think Gary has the answer himself or he may have just misunderstood what i was trying to say.

I understood exactly what GaryF was saying , although I didn't attempt verifying it.
But it makes sense when you have points tally Systems that this situation can occur.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 22nd June 2012, 09:59 AM
bernie bernie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 148
Default

Star, I'm really not confident in the neurals. I do all my recording after scratchings in the hope they are near enough to correct.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 22nd June 2012, 11:06 AM
garyf garyf is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 378
Smile

Hi STAR.


Might be better if you rung the r+S site themselves
They are pretty good and will answer your query.

(02) 62884080.

I had contact with them several months ago with the,
Don Scott worksheets took a while to fix but they were,
ALWAYS AVAILABLE FOR PHONE CONTACT.

The other option is sending off an email but you may get,
Confused with the answer actually reading it.

I am confident the explanation will be similiar to mine,
Just haven't explained it so you can understand.

I also used the neurals as a 2nd system if you like,
On my bettable races only for several years.

My settings were C/P=5 CF=5 T/A=5 all others = 0.

This improved the strike rate way up from the default settings,
But on my race types only.

These could be worse if used on other race types.

Eventually as the bets built up the profit and strike rate,
Began to slowly erode and without more filters was about break even.

I eventually gave them away just concentrating 100% on what i am doing now.

You should look at the Don Scott worksheet as well and compare,
Selections to see which one suits and possibly can make more money.

Give the R+s phone nos a go i believe you should get the answer you want.
GOOD LUCK WITH IT ALL.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 22nd June 2012, 06:19 PM
UselessBettor UselessBettor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,568
Default

It makes it hard to use the neurals if they keep changing. In my opinion it is best to grab them the night before and use that figure. That way your selections are always pre scratching.

I sometimes notice the figures for horses change if they have raced again within 7 days. It seems the figures take into account the future run because its in their database. for that reason I would not backtest any of the data on there and just start from tommorrow.

Its what I do.

For those who want historical data before scratchings I may be able to help out just like I help out Stix. Let me know if you need history.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 22nd June 2012, 06:24 PM
The Ocho The Ocho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,058
Default

Hi UB. I don't suppose you have any data for the Don Scott assessed prices? I know you have the DS rank on your "test a system" site but not the assessed prices.

You can email me at equalthree at yahoo dot com dot au if you don't want to attach it here.
__________________
Never give up on a dream just because of the time it will take to accomplish it. The time will pass anyway.

― Earl Nightingale
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 22nd June 2012, 06:56 PM
Star Star is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 217
Default

I have to thank everyone for their help and replies. I am still sorting through it and trying to work around it to get some more consistent figures.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 22nd June 2012, 09:06 PM
UselessBettor UselessBettor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,568
Default

Ocho,

2010 data below. I'll upload the rest when I get a chance.

http://ge.tt/78B6HVJ/v/0

I have included the position the horse finished and the tatts odds. It hopefully is what you wanted. Let me know if you want the 2011 and 2012 data.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 22nd June 2012, 09:17 PM
The Ocho The Ocho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,058
Default

Thanks very much for that UB. If you've got the others too that would be good.

I don't suppose you can also include the betfair odds on all of them?
__________________
Never give up on a dream just because of the time it will take to accomplish it. The time will pass anyway.

― Earl Nightingale
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 23rd June 2012, 07:48 AM
UselessBettor UselessBettor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,568
Default

Ocho,

I can from Aug 2011 but I store them in different tables and it will take a little time to get it joined. It was a bad design decision by me.

Give me a few days and I'll setup it and then send it on to you.

Hopefully it helps you find something that works. If your looking at overlays though I can tell you I tried looking at it before and couldn't make it successful. I didn't spend too much time on it so maybe you will have more luck if that is your angle.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump



All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2008 OZmium Pty. Ltd. All rights reserved . ACN 091184655